Ars Sonora Mix

Ars Sonora Mix

Ars Sonora Mix

Contribution of RNE to Ars Acustica/EBU-ABP 2011
Selection and mix: Ana Vega-Toscano / José Iges

From Radio Clásica we invite everybody to a travel that we could name 25 / 20 (Ars Sonora Mix): that means 25 years in twenty minutes with a double birthday celebration: the art’s birthday itself and the twenty-five years of Ars Sonora, the program of Radio Clasica focused on the creation of sound art and especially on radio art. For this double birthday we made a quick flight for a few of the many productions by Ars Sonora in these 25 years, using the wings of the word and human voice, an essential element in radio art. Whispered words, imagined, remembered, clean in silence, rescued in a landscape, voices tuned and orchestred with real or imagined sounds…

You have to be logged in to listen the entire piece

A tour for 12 works, 12 proposals from the language of radio, with the voices -by order of appearance- of Susan Milnes, Belma Martin, Esperanza Abad, Marisa Manchado, Carolyne Frazier, Agniezska Waligorska and many anonymous guests…:

– Call me yesterday (Antje Vowinckel, 2005)
– A-Roving (Eduardo Polonio, 1994)
– Metalógica (Belma Martin – Pedro Lopez, 1998)
– Del Amor y de la Guerra [From Love and War] (Marisa Manchado, 1999)
– Los juegos [The Games] (Abril Padilla, 2003)
– Música en bruto [Raw Music] (Mercé Capdevila, 2007)
– EAJ-12 (Javier Darias, 1994)
– The Last Words of Ulises (Leopoldo Amigo, 1998)
– Hot&Cold (Agniezska Waligorska – Pekka Sirén, 1992)
– Deriva nº 2: Venecia (Pedro Elías, 1990)
– Atardecer en un patio [Sunset in a Courtyard] (Edith Alonso, 2008)
– Hieros Logos (Manuel Rocha, 2010)

The end of the mix is taken from the piece “Hieros Logos” by Manuel Rocha Iturbide, a commission by Radio Clásica, which premiered at the Alicante Music Festival 2010: “This work deals with an abstract imaginative narrative, where the characters are represented by the sounds of the voice and the human language, not mattering their linguistic origin (Spanish, English, Hindi, etc), the sound source (a baby, a man, a women, an old man), or possible idiomatic meaningless signification (invented electro acoustic sound poetry, etc). The theme that flows through the story is the power of the voice and the speaking language as signs of communication, primarily in the emotional and intuitive planes. These sonic elements, always charged with energy, have been able to transform us through praying, labor singing, sound poetry, and recently with the creation of a new music based not in Melody, but on the different sounds of the human voice.”

The program Kunstradio (ORF) has broadcasted “Ars Sonora Mix” the Sunday 10-4-2011 as well as “Hieros Logos”, by Manuel Rocha Iturbide. You can listen it on:

Leave a Reply